Favorite Albums of 2010

It’s taken us a while to compile a list of our favorite albums of 2010. There were so many albums we enjoyed this year, and it was a daunting task to narrow them down. But alas, here are 40 of our favorite albums.

There were two requirements for our list of favorites – they had to have been released in 2010, and ones that spent a good amount of time in our cd players and playlists. This list could easily have been longer, but we had to make some decisions and cuts. What can we say, we love music and an eclectic mix. Here’s the list…

Favorite Albums of 2010 (in alphabetical order):

  • Arcade Fire – The Suburbs
  • Black Dub – Black Dub
  • Brendan James – Brendan James
  • Broken Bells – Broken Bells
  • Cary Brothers – Under Control
  • Cheryl Cole – Messy Little Raindrops
  • Daniel Merriweather – Love and War
  • David Gray – Foundling
  • Delphic – Acolyte
  • Diana Vickers – Songs from the Tainted Cherry Tree
  • Ellie Goulding – Bright Lights
  • Eminem – Recovery
  • Erik Hassle – Pieces
  • Fitz and the Tantrums – Pickin’ Up The Pieces
  • Florence and The Machine – Between Two Lungs
  • Fran Healy – Wreckorder
  • Harper Blynn – Loneliest Generation
  • Hurts – Happiness
  • Janelle Monae – The ArchAndroid
  • Jesca Hoop – Hunting My Dress
  • John Legend and The Roots – Wake Up!
  • Laura Marling – I Speak Because I Can
  • Lauren Pritchard – Wasted In Jackson
  • Lindsey Ray – Goodbye From California
  • Linkin Park – A Thousand Suns
  • Lissie – Catching A Tiger
  • Live Lounge – Volume 5
  • Marina And The Diamonds – The Family Jewels
  • Matt Morris – When Everything Breaks Open
  • Michael Buble – Crazy Love Hollywood Edition
  • Mumford and Sons – Sigh No More
  • Natasha Bedingfield – Strip Me
  • Robyn – Body Talk
  • Sara Bareilles – Kaleidoscope Heart
  • The Saturday Sessions
  • Sharon Corr – Dream of You
  • Simon Curtis – 8bit Heart
  • Tamar Kaprelian – Sinner or a Saint
  • Taylor Swift – Speak Now
  • The Script – Science and Faith

Edit: As Michael Buble once said, “HOLY SHIT BALLS!” There were several albums that I LOVE from this past year that escaped the initial list. It was a lapse in my organization, and in no way a reflection of the album or the artists. Here’s the three that I missed (and there may be more… whoopsie)

  • Justin Nozuka – You I Wind Land and Sea
  • KT Tunstall – Tiger Suit
  • Ry Cuming – Ry Cuming

What were your favorites of 2010? Share your thoughts

More posts:

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Daily Cover: John Legend and The Roots meet Arcade Fire’s “Wake Up”

John Legend and The Roots recently collaborated on an album of cover songs called Wake Up!. Thematically, the songs were chosen based on their messages of inspiration, enlightenment, social awareness and activism. The lead single from the album is a track called “Wake Up Everybody” and features Common and Melanie Fiona.

It has been stated by several sources that the album title, Wake Up!, was inspired by the Arcade Fire song with the same name. The cover was not included on the album, but taking another step from Arcade Fire’s playbook, John Legend and The Roots recorded a concert for AmEx UNSTAGED, and performed “Wake Up!”.

“It’s time to Wake Up! Come on! Come on! Let’s Wake Up! Come on!” – John Legend

I love Arcade Fire. I’m also a big fan of John Legend. And this is brilliant. Some think the cover is not as epic or anthemic as the original, but I disagree. They are both different, and equally brilliant. I love covers, especially cross-genre and unexpected covers. I have the album Wake Up! and while I haven’t spent too much time with it (but do plan on it), I can see why the cover wasn’t included on the album, it doesn’t quite fit, but I’m glad we get to see/hear this cover.

The John Legend and Roots AmEx UNSTAGED show was directed by Spike Lee and also included the John Legend hit “Ordinary People” & “Save Room/Green Light”, The Roots hit “You Got Me” with Estelle, and new covers “Hard Times”, “Little Ghetto Boy”, and more.

Check out some highlights from the Arcade Fire AmEx UNSTAGED show.

More posts:

Tags: , ,

New Music Video: John Legend And The Roots – “Little Ghetto Boy”

John Legend and The Roots have teamed up to release an album called Wake Up! The album has 10 songs from the 60’s and 70’s that have been updated and made contemporary. The songs have powerful messages about social consciousness and awareness, and are just as relevant today as they were 40-50 years ago. The album also has a brand new track by John Legend called “Shine”. The album will be released on September 21st.

The first single from the album is a track called “Wake Up Everybody” and features Common and Melanie Fiona. It’s an updated cover of Harold Melvin & The Blue Notes 1976 hit. The song is one of my favorite songs right now and is getting great reception. Hopefully you’ve already heard it and are enjoying it.

“Wake Up Everybody”

Another track on the album (second single maybe?) is a track called “Little Ghetto Boy” and was originally sung by Donny Hathaway in 1972. It’s a great and powerful song, with so much soul. John Legend and The Roots sounds incredibly good. Here’s the brand new video:

I’m really excited to hear the rest of the album. I do like my light and fun pop/rock, but sometimes I need music that inspires me and has a powerful message. This album is going to not only inspire me, but help me feel encouraged as I watch the new and events that are taking place in our scary world. There is so much hate and xenophobia right now, it’s not healthy or pleasant. Hopefully the album will reignite people’s passion and compassion and inspire people to take a stand for what is right. I feel that society needs an album with a great strong message right now.

More posts:

Tags: ,